Writers – Do You Feel This Way?

Just curious if fellow writers feel this way:

I just completed the first draft of my next book, and have forwarded it to my “first readers”. These are people I trust and respect, but it’s a scary time.

I feel I have spent a huge chunk of my time breathing life into these new characters, and molding them into who they have now become. I have given them settings and situations to interact within, and I have poured a small piece of my soul into them.

And now it’s time to see, for the first time, if that piece of my soul will connect with a reader. And it’s not just the first reads. Every time I get feedback from a reader, I feel the tiny piece of my soul I have given to that book is on trial. I know it’s too much to ask for my characters to connect with every reader, but the first time I put that new piece of work out there, I have no idea if the story that was in my head, is the story I put into words.

I’m not sure readers realize how personal a story and its characters are to the writer. It’s a bit scary, but totally worth it when someone connects with your story and characters.

Any one else feel this way? Or should I seek psychiatric treatment? πŸ˜‰

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Writers – Do You Feel This Way?

  1. Glenn Hascall

    Scott,

    Besides having a career in voice work, I am also a published author and have contributed to more than 70 books. When you write stories the characters do take on a life of their own and you come to care about them and how others perceive their story. That never seems to change (unless you disconnect from engaging personally with the character, but then the quality of writing always suffers). Looks like you are very busy. Gotta love outlets for creativity. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

